You are here

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Third party printer #1
Wendy Sommers's picture
by Wendy Sommers
March 15, 2013 - 12:29am

I have created my first Aperture photo book and it's 120+ pages with lots of text and captions (too late to start over). I want to print it with Blurb or another third party printer, but can't figure out how to do this. I have searched forums and contacted Blurb and Apple and I get a different answer every time. Could someone walk me through the steps? I'm a beginner. I read a post about downloading PDF to folder as JPG, but didn't really understand how that would work. I'm trying. Thanks!

Butch Miller's picture
by Butch Miller
March 15, 2013 - 1:29am

This can be a very sticky situation … seeking a printer after you design the book. Different vendors require different margins, trims, bleeds and actual page dimensions … if these variables are beyond the scope of the vendor you want to use, it may not be easy to rectify the situation without investing considerable effort.

For example, I have two book printers I deal with the most. For a 10 inch x 10 inch album, one printer requires my pages be exactly 10x10 … though in the finished book, the actual trimmed page size 9 7/8 inches due to the flush mount trimming … the other printer wants me to submit pages that are exactly 10.2 inches square … resulting in a 10 inch trimmed final result … don’t get me started on the other sizes ..

Regardless of which vendor you use, you’ll have to deliver your book in a format and layout they can reproduce on their system … which ideally, you need to do that before you start the design phase of the book.

Charles Putnam's picture
by Charles Putnam
March 15, 2013 - 1:39am

Blurb has instructions on their site on going from a PDF to a book. See http://www.blurb.com/pdf_to_book

That said, I’ve seen/read mixed reviews of Blurb’s quality. One other option may be Mpix. Also, Graphic Studio has a plug-in for Aperture and it appears they do 10x10.