You are here

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Restore problems #1
Maureen McPherson's picture
by Maureen McPherson
May 9, 2012 - 8:09am

Hey all:

I am kind of new to the whole cloud back-up thing, so I am on a 15 day trial. One of the things I wanted to do was to make sure I could restore my aperture libraries should I ever need to. So, I gave it a try.

I am trying to restore an aperture library on my IMAC that I have backed up with Backblaze. I received the restored file in my email. I downloaded the restored file and it unzipped as it was loaded. I then clicked on the restored file and aperture asked if I wanted to “rebuild the library.” I said “ok.” The new library was built but now I can only see black boxes. No pictures are showing. I can tell that the pictures are there somewhere, as they have the number of pictures that are inside each project down in the bottom of the box and the file number of each picture at the bottom of each box, but I CAN NOT figure out how to get the actual thumbnails restored. I know it has something to do with getting the “complete package” to load into Aperture, but I can't figure out how to do that.

Has anyone tried to actually restore their aperture libraries from Backblaze. Has it worked of you? Am I missing a step. And, in case you are wondering, I contacted Backblaze TWICE only for them to tell me TWICE that this is not a Backblaze problem, but an Aperture problem. Ugh…. so much for customer support.

Thanks for any help you can give me!

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
May 11, 2012 - 10:20am

Maureen,

I wanted to let you know that I have tested a complete backup and restore of a managed library, and it worked perfectly fine. I do believe that your original backup was never completed. That makes the most sense to me.

Please let us know what you find!

@PhotoJoseph
— Have you signed up for the mailing list?

by Maureen McPherson
May 12, 2012 - 10:54am