You are here

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Color Profiles & Mitsubishi CP3800DW #1
Tim Ayling's picture
by Tim Ayling
November 2, 2012 - 5:15am

I am an event photographer and have been using Aperture for several years with Mitsubishi CP3800DW and CP9550DW printers.
I have profiles made for each of the printers. Everything worked brilliantly unto and including Leopard 10.5. I did not upgrade to 10.6, but had to go to 10.7 when I got 2 MacMinis.
The profiles I had for the printers were useless and so had new profiles made. It made no difference at all. It does not matter if I have the profile set in the print dialog box in Aperture or set through Colorsync direct to the printer it make no difference the colour is awful. The colours are all too heavy, skin tones make people look as it they have jaundice with a sun tan.
I have spoken to Mitsubishi who say it is not a problem with the print drivers because the program dictates the colour and Apple Tech Support say it is Mitsubishi because they have not upgraded their drivers.
I am caught in the middle.
Can anyone help with this problem.

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
November 3, 2012 - 3:02am

Tim,

There are a few readers here who know printing, so maybe they will chime in and have some ideas — I’m not one of them I’m sorry to say.

Have you looked for a ColorSync forum? Maybe that’d be the place to get some ColorSync specific help; either on apple’s own support site or elsewhere, like this site.

@PhotoJoseph
— Have you signed up for the mailing list?

Tim Ayling's picture
by Tim Ayling
November 5, 2012 - 12:26am

Hi Joseph,

I have solved the problem. I have installed Lightroom, on the same MacMini. The colour profiles work perfectly producing really good photos as I was told on more than one occasion at a Charity Ball I was working at last night.

I am very disappointed with Apple because their Tech guys just kept blaming the print drivers and would not even consider their might be a problem in Aperture.