You are here

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Color Profile Options in Print Box #1
Spartacus Capua's picture
by Spartacus Capua
October 2, 2010 - 8:44am

I'm new to printing photos. I have calibrated my iMac 27” with a SpyderExpress3 but I'm hesitant to drop $300-ish on a printer calibrater for my printer (old Canon S9000). I bought Office Depot Premium Photo Paper (4x6). I read that a paper profile is somehow helpful but can't find a profile for this paper. Hell, if I found it, I wouldn't know what to do with it!

Anyways, when I go to File, Print Image, I don't have clue as to what Color Profile I should choose. Any suggestions? Printer managed? Photoshop 4? I have no clue. Thanks so much in advance.

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
October 2, 2010 - 11:56pm

Spartacus,

I’m not a big printer myself (I leave “real” printing to the pros at my lab), but I can somewhat answer these questions for you.

The profile for specific printer paper can usually be found on the manufacturers website, if it’s a pro-grade paper. Your Office Depot Premium is probably not quite at that caliber, plus since it’s a generic (non-printer) manufacturer’s paper, I doubt you’d find profiles for it as it’d have to be profiled against a series of printers.

If you look at your printer’s website though, you’re more likely to find profiles for that printer—and for paper made by that manufacturer. That’s what you want to locate—it’s a combo package; printer + paper.

Once you’ve installed them, the usefulness is in “soft proofing”, or Onscreen Proofing. From the View menu in Aperture, select Onscreen Proofing, and from the menu underneath that, Proofing Profile, locate the profile for the printer and paper you’re printing to. This will simulate on-screen what the printed page will look like. Simulate with a capital S, big “air quotes”, and a bowlful of caveat.