You are here

23 posts / 0 new
Last post
Recommendations for new computer, etc. for speed? #1
Kay's picture
by Kay
April 27, 2012 - 9:31am

I want to buy new equipment and need advice for a speedy, efficient workflow. Starting from scratch, incl. computer, what should I buy? I am not rich, but my frustration with slow Aperture and crashes are at an end. I need speed!

What equipment/set-up do you recommend?

I am a busy amateur photographer/artist, often on the move, do not know much computer jargon or how computers work. I have been managing with Aperture on an older iMac, external HDDs with USB cables and mainly referenced libraries. Mainly shoot RAW. As you can imagine, this is slow, slow, slow and I can't take it anymore!

Admittedly, I am tempted to move over to Lightroom (and still upgrage equipment). Should I stick it out with Aperture? (I have used it since the beginning and it has been a long and buggy road. I have stuck with it because I like the potential convenience/simplicity.)

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
May 4, 2012 - 9:06am

StudioK,

Wow that’s impressive… a company that actually told you not to buy something?! That’s awesome!

@PhotoJoseph
— Have you signed up for the mailing list?

David  Moore's picture
by David Moore
April 27, 2012 - 2:40pm

Im feeling snarky so forgive me. Doesn’t everyone like to pay big bucks for lg raw file cameras and then upgrade to a new mac with high end graphics card and 16 gb ram with SSD Hd. Gee I’m glad to hear Im not alone. You already know the answer. The standard is 8gb ram and as fast a processor with as may cores as possible. Don’t get a windows box and lightroom, misery would miss your company.

One secret Ive learned is to drink a glass of wine while editing, the mac seems to get faster and finally waits for me. Don’t worry be happy. On to glass three.

davidbmoore@mac.com
Twitter= @davidbmoore
Scottsdale AZ

Kay's picture
by Kay
April 27, 2012 - 3:41pm