You are here

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
RAW vs JPEG questions #1
brettdog's picture
by brettdog
March 19, 2014 - 9:23pm

I am a casual photographer and purchased a Nikon D3100 about 16 months ago.

I turned on shooting both RAW and JPEG.

90% of the photos taken are average at best so RAW is overkill. Example would be Christmas. I may take 300 pictures during the holiday which only a hand full would benefit from RAW processing. Most of the others would be good to keep but RAW not needed.

I am somewhat lazy in keeping up with new photos with regards to deleting, adjusting, rating, metadata etc.

Since RAW files are much larger than JPEGs, this adds a lot to the library.

I wanted to know if there is a better workflow to manage the photos without unnecessarily bloating the library. 

I like to import all the photos from the SD card and go through them later. If I import RAW+JPEG pairs, I can’t delete just the RAW half, unless that feature has been added recently. So I import JPEGs and RAW separately and later I can delete the RAWs that are not needed, keeping just the JPEG version. 

Thanks,

bdog

Regards,
bdog

bjurasz's picture
by bjurasz
March 19, 2014 - 9:50pm

When shooting JPG, you basically set a standard setting for contrast, saturation, sharpening, etc., to be applied to every shot.  With RAW you do this later in your RAW converter (in this case, Aperture).  So do this, either:

1) ditch using RAW entirely since the bulk of your shots are fine anyway

2) ditch using JPG.  Set yourself a default adjustment in Aperture to be applied to each RAW file as you import it.  This is precisely what I do.  Each image I import gets an automatic adjustment to contrast, a mild curve, sharpening, etc.  This basically mimics what the camera does when you shoot JPG.  If that default adjustment isn’t working for a particular photo I just change the adjustments later.

With Aperture there really are very few reasons to ever shoot RAW+JPG again.

Bill Jurasz
Austin Texas