You are here

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
RAW + JPEG import advice #1
Dave M.'s picture
by Dave M.
March 17, 2010 - 7:56am

I’m brand new to Aperture and Digital SLRs (had iPhoto and digital point and shoot cameras before). I’ve looked around but can’t seem to find an answer. I’m sure this is basic but I just came back from a trip (whale watching in Baja which is amazing by the way) and shot a ton of RAW + JPEG pictures. I also just bought Aperture 3. I’ve just imported the first batch of photos as ‘import RAW + JPEG (RAW as master)” but wanted to make sure that was the correct thing for what I wanted. I’m looking to (when I shot RAW + JPEG) to use the RAW image as my base file to edit but want to make sure the master file is untouched in that after many edits, I can always go back to the original. If that’s the case, why would one want to use the JPEG as master? Thanks.

David

Dave M.'s picture
by Dave M.
April 21, 2010 - 7:02am

Thanks. I have both the “In-Depth Getting Started with Aperture 3” ebook (about 1/3 way through) and am watching the video as well.
This is just a hobby for me but I like having the RAW file. Would you recommend just shooting RAW then? I can always generate a JPEG for export via e-mail.
I read your section on RAW vs JPEG. If I understand this correctly, setting the RAW as master simply makes the RAW the source file from which edits are made which would be slower than setting JPEG as master as you stated above. Since I have no workflow time issues, I should either shoot in RAW or set RAW as master? Thanks for making such a great ebook.

David

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
April 21, 2010 - 9:39am

Dave,

That’s exactly right… the only sacrifice shooting and editing RAW is time and space (bigger files). However that’s far outweighed by the image quality advantages. And frankly, unless you’re on an older Mac or editing really high-rez files, you probably won’t see a noticeable difference.