You are here

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
Managing 2 active libraries #1
Steve Van's picture
by Steve Van
February 2, 2011 - 1:41pm

I just purchased “15 Tips…” looking for some insight on how to manage my library better and it didn't really shed light on what I was struggling with. So I've decided to plea for a tip 16 upgrade if you could point me to an article, post, book etc that covers whats wrong or right with what I'm trying to do.

Tip 0 covered my basic issue, I'm an amateur photographer with way more photos than fit on my laptop's drive. I like the simplicity of a managed library (like I suspect most amateurs do) and until I max'ed out the drive, I was using my laptop as my main library and had 2 backup vaults plus time machine.

The solution to maxing out the hard drive of course was to move the library onto an external drive, but I can't carry the drive with me all the time. I use the laptop for work and travel quite a bit, but I have intermittent time to work on the library (tagging, faces, places etc). When I don't have the drive connected I lose my ability to do anything with the library so I tried having a local library with say the last year's photos and my best-of's, and then the rest of the library is back home on the big external drive.

The pitfall is I am doing lots of merge's into the main library and it seems to me that I have to be very disciplined not to screw up any work I did on that library. I've not tested how smart the merge library is, but it doesn't seem too smart and it seems it is up to me to make sure I've worked on files in only 1 of the 2 libraries.

So in a nutshell, is this the reason reference libraries were created in the first place and should I just get over it and start down that path….

Or is there something wrong with what I'm doing library wise (master library plus local work library) and should I be re-thinking how I work?

Thanks for reading and for any advice you can point me to.
-Steve

PhotoJoseph's picture