You are here

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Film scanner? #1
Grace Suarez's picture
by Grace Suarez
January 18, 2012 - 5:44am

I just found a stash of negatives of pics my late mom took. As far back as 1948. I tried scanning them using my Epson RX600 but not satisfied with quality. Thinking about a dedicated film/slide scanner. Worth doing? Any suggestions?

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
January 20, 2012 - 5:20am

Grace,

Scanning seems to be the hot topic this week. No one has answered our question yet (and I have no experience with scanners myself), but in the meantime check out these other current and active posts on scanning:

jpegs or tiffs (scanned from negatives)

dividing scanned photos

@PhotoJoseph
— Have you signed up for the mailing list?

John Waugh's picture
by John Waugh
January 21, 2012 - 1:16am

I use an Epson Perfection 3200 photo scanner.
It has a transparency lighted top for scanning.
I find that the software you drive it with makes a big difference.
Using SilverFast 8 for CS5 Photoshop and three pass scanning creates a very acceptable file.
John

John Waugh, Photographic Images • Apple Certified Trainer• Sport Action Lifestyle Photography

David Thompson's picture
by David Thompson
December 11, 2012 - 1:28pm

I have no idea whether anyone is still monitoring this thread (or not). I’ve been working my way through reviews (such as they are) of currently available film scanners. It appears that the best dedicated film scanners are out of production (Nikon and Minolta), so their prices are inflated. Current production includes units from Plustek and Pacific Image. Some of the flatbed scanners have their fans too.

I’m finding that getting reliable information about measured resolution and dynamic range is challenging, to say the least. I’ll continue looking through this website. Ultimately I might have to write up my findings and post them on my personal website.

Good hunting!

Tim Doyle's picture
by Tim Doyle
December 13, 2012 - 7:28am