You are here

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Brush size and softness - that's it? Adjusting brush after the fact? #1
ksignorini's picture
by ksignorini
May 29, 2011 - 3:33pm

I'm new to Aperture 3 and have been playing with the brushed in adjustments, such as Tint, etc.

What I've noticed is that even at maximum Softness, the feathering of the adjustment isn't very pronounced…at least not when compared to other editors. I have found the button in the tool's brush HUD that lets you soften the edges after the fact (the middle button), but I'm wondering why on earth those are two separate functions? If a brush edge could be softened out to, say “x” after the fact, why can't I just brush it in as “x” soft to start with?

I'm also wondering about making other adjustments after the stroke is made. For example, if I make a brush stroke and have my strength at say, 0.5 and don't like the way the effect looks (pretend it's too weak), what I would do in other editors is adjust the Strength up a bit, say to 0.75 and see how the stroke I had made looks with the new setting. If that's how Aperture is supposed to work, it doesn't seem to be doing that for me. It seems that if I'm unhappy with a stroke I made at 0.5 and want that same stroke to be stronger, I have to bump up the Strength to 0.75 and then re-stroke. Is this right? (I hope not…what if my stroke was fairly complex?)

I'm loving Aperture so far, but I'm just confused on the brushes is all. They seem different than other brushes I've used.

Thanks and I'm looking forward to figuring out how this works!

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
May 30, 2011 - 7:35am

ksignorini,

You’re right—Aperture brushes work differently than anything else you’ve used before :)