You are here

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Big prints blurry, masks for large and panoramic photos? #1
Marcia's picture
by Marcia
July 22, 2013 - 4:12pm

I have a MacBook Pro and use Mac OSX vs 10.6.8 I have Aperture 3. I am an amateur photographer and am organizing an exhibition for a non-profit organization. I am printing photographs for the first time and it is terrible. I have learned a lot from this website; I now know about exporting, presets, watermarks…but I am still having difficulties with the quality of my prints. Everyone is telling me I need Photoshop…but I cannot afford it at the moment. I love Aperture 3 and I am sure that there is way for my 12x18 and 12x36 Panoramic photos to not come out blurry….I do not understand what I am doing wrong. I have set a preset with the different print sizes, all at 300dpi and with the correct Aspect Ratio. I am at my wits end with this. At the printing shop Costco they tell 'your photos are the wrong size', 'your color profile is different'…. and ask about 'masks' but I cannot find anything similar in Aperture. My panoramic photos look awesome on screen and blurry in print…. some of my photos are cropped and I do not think I quite understand the color profiles. I would truly appreciate if you could guide me in the right direction to accomplish this. Thanks! Be well!

Charles Putnam's picture
by Charles Putnam
July 22, 2013 - 9:57pm

Knowing what type of camera you’re using, whether you’re original images are shot in RAW or JPEG, and what size images you’re providing to be printed will help to provide guidance.

If you’re having the images printed by Costco (or anywhere else), most use images that are saved in an sRGB color space. Additionally, when you save the image from Aperture to JPEG, you don’t (read DO NOT) want to reduce the resolution - keep it at 300dpi (if you’re reducing the resolution to anything lower than this, that will cause the images to be blurry).

Walter Rowe's picture
by Walter Rowe