You are here

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Aperture alternative options? #1
Michael McGregory's picture
by Michael McGregory
October 31, 2015 - 8:23pm

I’m still on OS X Mavericks. Everything is working fine and I also run some flight sim software that doesn’t take kindly to being an early adopter of OS updates so I wasn’t in a hurry to move to Yosemite and now El Capitan is out. I’d like to covert my Aperture library before leaving Mavericks to avoid the issues I’m reading about. However - Photos requires Yosemite and that doesn’t seem to be an option in the App Store anymore. 

Would appreciate any advice…Lightroom? I’m just a hobbyist so just looking for an easy-ish path. I outgrew iPhoto and loved Aperture, so this is a bummer. 

Thanks for any tips…

Mike 

Notso Bad's picture
by Notso Bad
November 1, 2015 - 9:42pm

I have Aperture on Yosemite and It takes a long time to open up, but then seems to operate OK. I have tried one small library in Photos and I don’t like it at all. I preferred to be able to organize. 

I am about to take my chances and go to El Capitan. I tried it on my laptop with a small library and it seems to work.

Colin's picture
by Colin
November 22, 2015 - 12:25pm

If you liked Aperture and outgrew iPhoto then Lightroom is the way to go. Photos is in any event rubbish as far as I am concerned, unless you are just a happy snapper who wants to share your selfies etc!

studio460's picture
by studio460
December 5, 2015 - 6:14am

Well, after a year of hemming and hawing, it seems I’m back to square-f’ing-one as far as my own Aperture EOL conundrum goes …