You are here

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Aperture 3.0.3 / Aperture 3.1 Missing Masters #1
Stanley Waterman's picture
by Stanley Waterman
October 27, 2010 - 9:46pm

I've been using Aperture without problems for about 8 months. I edited and emailed a version of an image yesterday morning with no problems — and then went out for the day. About 9 in the evening, I tried emailing about a dozen images to my nephew at his request (I hadn't used Aperture between about 8 in the morning and 9 in the evening) and got the message: “Versions with unavailable master files cannot be emailed. The selected master image is either offline or not found. Please reconnect it and try again.” Got the same message when I tried to print.

I then searched through the Support/Discussions on Apple and elsewhere and see that others have had similar problems — similar but not the same. I haven't renamed my hard disk; I haven't changed my computer; etc. Somehow, something seems to have become corrupted. This is where I came across your website.

Probably rather stupidly, I upgraded from 3.0.3 to 3.1 this morning as part of the usual weekly Software Update from Apple, thinking that whatever the problem was, Apple had worked it out and all would be fine — only to find that it has upgraded/altered the library so that it can't be read by my laptop (which still has 3.0.3 — and an uncorrupted file on it).

I think (!) I have a more or less updated library saved on an external hard disk (which doesn't cover the work I did over the w/e sifting and junking hundreds of photos.

Have you any suggestions as to how I might recoup the lost Master files (they seem to be there/somewhere only Aperture doesn't appear to know where to find them).

I would be very grateful for any suggestions.

Stanley Waterman

by Stanley Waterman
November 9, 2010 - 4:10pm